- Posted August 19, 2013 by
Avoid Whey to Alleviate Lactose Intolerance by...
For individuals with lactose intolerance, it can be a challenge to avoid sources of whey. Whey is derived from milk, but some products with whey are not obvious dairy products or food items that people typically associate with lactose intolerance. Follow the steps below to avoid whey for the alleviation of lactose intolerance.
Whey protein is found in lactose-based dairy products, such as cow’s or goat’s milk, cheese, sour cream, ice cream, and yogurt. Whey products are often high in lactose, and most products with whey will cause considerable discomfort for the typical person suffering from lactose intolerance.
- Buy dairy substitutes. Consider coconut or almond milk, dairy-free sorbets instead of ice cream, vegan cheese products, and other foods and drinks that are intended to replace dairy products for vegan or lactose intolerant individuals.
- Opt for products labeled “lactose-free.” While this label does not guarantee the absence of whey protein, it makes it highly unlikely that the product will contain whey protein (which is derived from milk).
In the United States, milk products have to be listed as a potential allergy warning if the food contains them. Most manufacturers will individually include whey in the ingredient list as well, particularly if the product is not strictly considered a dairy product. By avoiding food and drinks that contain whey, you can avoid potentially high concentrations of lactose and spare yourself the associated discomfort.
Memorize all variations of names for whey. Whey may appear in many forms on ingredient labels.
- Avoid products that include whey or the following terms on ingredient labels, product descriptions, or allergy warnings (in any form): bovine, butter, casein, cheese, curds, galactose, lactalbumin, lactose, and milk.
- In general, avoid all products with whey, lactose, milk, or dairy on the product label. Unless a product is specifically marked as free of lactose or whey - or is explicitly vegan - do not assume that it does not contain whey.
- If you suffer from a milk allergy instead of just lactose intolerance, the list of items you will need to strictly avoid will be much more extensive; some individuals with lactose intolerance can actually consume many foods and drinks with milk-derived products or small amounts of whey without experiencing side effects.
Check ingredient labels on everything you buy. Whey and lactose can be present in many forms and even in products that do not seem associated with dairy.
- Lactose and whey can be found in many “non-dairy” products, such as bread, chewing gum, soy cheeses, vitamins and medicines, canned fish, chicken broth, chocolates, packaged potato or dip mixes, and powdered or pulverized sauce or mix packets.
- Whey is also in most infant formulas, margarines, dessert products, breakfast porridges, and cheese-flavored snacks.
Most products that are promoted for protein content are likely to contain whey, which is a highly digestible form of protein for most individuals. Whey protein powders are clearly off-limits for those with lactose intolerance, but many sources of whey may be hidden in other protein sources, particularly in products aimed at building muscle or controlling weight.
- Ask for the ingredient list of supplement powders at smoothie vendors. Smoothie makers often offer a protein, immunity, or energy supplement as an addition to blended fruit drinks.
Ask for an ingredient list before trying any of the added powders – particularly the protein powder – as whey protein is a common ingredient in many nutritional powder supplements. Avoid any powders that contain lactose or whey in any form on the ingredient list.
- Buy only whey-free soy protein powders for workout purposes. Protein powders made of soy, brown rice, hemp, pea, and egg proteins are often safe for those with lactose intolerance provided they do not also contain whey protein.
- Read ingredient labels carefully on pre-made shakes, protein bars, and other supplements. Even organic and vegetarian protein snacks and medical supplements can contain whey protein. Opt for vegan protein sources or read ingredient labels closely to avoid hidden sources of whey and lactose.