- Posted September 2, 2013 by
Vegetarian and Gluten Free
Combining a vegetarian lifestyle with a gluten-free lifestyle can be a very big step. However, it can be great for your overall health. Gluten-free living is now easier than ever before, as there are a wide variety of gluten-free options available to choose from. Combining gluten-free eating with a vegetarian diet can be difficult since you’ll be facing so many dietary restrictions, but there are some easy steps you can follow to make the process easier.
Most people who decide to eat gluten-free do so because they are intolerant to the gluten in food, and in fact this is the only reason doctors recommend going on a gluten-free diet. Learning the foods that do not contain gluten is a very important first step.
Know which foods to avoid. You will need to avoid foods containing wheat, barley and rye. This can seem like a daunting task, because a lot of foods do contain these grains. However, there are some good options out there for you. Rice is a great option to add to your meals and is gluten-free. Corn is also gluten free. Corn works well on meatless tacos and also when added to salads. Quinoa is also a great-tasting rice-like food that is easy to incorporate into your daily meals.
- There are plenty of gluten-free flours and pastas available to you. Companies have become very aware of gluten-free diets as of late. There are a wide variety of gluten-free options available now in your local store. You can make pastas and dishes that do not have gluten and you can add delicious vegetables to make these dishes tasty and satisfying.
Get all of the proteins and vitamins that you need while on a gluten-free diet. If you follow the simple steps listed above to incorporate foods into your diet that are rich in protein and vitamins, you will get all of the protein and vitamins your body needs. It is important to remember to make sure that you are eating enough foods and that you are getting all of the calories that your body requires. If you do this, you will ensure that you are consuming enough protein.
Once you take the necessary steps to start a gluten-free lifestyle, you can then incorporate the vegetarian lifestyle into your diet.
Know what a vegetarian diet consists of. A vegetarian diet is a diet without any meat. This includes beef, pork, chicken and fish. These diets are very high in fiber, vitamins and minerals. Becoming a vegetarian will help you maintain a healthy weight and will also help your body to be healthier overall, as you will not be adding all of the fillers into your body that are associated with meat.
Remember that vegetables will provide you with all of the protein that you will need. If you are making sure to eat enough calories in your vegetarian diet, you will be getting all of the protein that your body requires to stay healthy and strong. Vegetables such as broccoli and spinach can be very high in protein. Beans are also another great source of protein that can be easy to incorporate into your diet. You can add beans to a fresh green salad to make sure that you are incorporating enough protein into your meals.
You will need to make sure you are getting all of the omega-3’s and vitamin B12 that your body needs when you become a vegetarian. These vitamins are mostly found in meat and fish so you will need to make sure that you are consuming enough of them in other ways once you go vegetarian. You can talk to your doctor and begin taking supplements for these vitamins in addition to eating vitamin-rich foods.
- These vitamins can also be found in foods that don’t have any dairy in them such as non-dairy energy bars as well as in certain cereals.
- Be sure to eat plenty of fruits and vegetables that contain a good amount of vitamin C as well, such as citrus fruits.
- Eat vegetables that are rich in iron to avoid developing iron-deficiency anemia.
Refrain from assuming that all vegetarian diets will require too much time and effort. There are plenty of delicious vegetarian recipes that are just as easy (or even easier) to prepare as recipes that include meats. Many companies have also developed a variety of frozen vegetarian products that you just have to heat up to enjoy if you are in a hurry or work long hours.
Be careful when choosing imitation meat products because some contain gluten. There are several companies who produce these items that contain no meat but are made to taste like meat. These are popular among vegetarians who enjoy the taste of meat. It is important to know that some of these products may not be gluten-free however, so you should always check the label.