Share this on:
About this iReport
  • Not vetted for CNN

  • Click to view sspatil's profile
    Posted December 20, 2013 by

    More from sspatil

    ### A Workshop on Bridge Design and Fabrication @MPSTME, SVKMs NMIMS,Shirpur Campus

    ### Workshop on Bridge Design and Fabrication
    at MPSTME, SVKMs NMIMS,Shirpur Campus,
    Mukesh Patel Technology Park, Shirpur.

    Indian Society for Technical Education, SVKM’S NMIMS MPSTME chapter Shirpur, in association with Civil Simplified Bangalore, organised a workshop on Bridge Design and Fabrication on 14th and 15th of September, 2013.Mr Vinay Chataraju, Chairperson Civil Simplified an IIT Kanpur alumnus conducted the workshop. In the Inauguration of the workshop, NMIMS MPSTME Director, Dr. Tapan Bagchi, Associate Dean, Dr M.V. Deshpande, were the honourable chief guests. Head of Electronics and Telecommunication Department Prof. Shashikant Patil was the guest of honour. Prof.Gaurav H. Tandon was the in charge of the workshop helping the students to work and learn efficiently during the learning sessions.

    Mr Chataraju speaking on the occasion said, "Exposure to practical education is very important for increasing the employability of students, especially in the field of engineering. Working with this aim, Civil Simplified, an award winning Business Venture driven by alumni of IIT Kanpur, conducts workshop throughout India. And now we (Civil Simplified organisation) are here(NMIMS MPSTME) to conduct a workshop on bridge design where the students will be taught to design and fabricate bridges made of balsa wood that will help them to understand the core concepts of Bridge Design.”

    There were 70 participants in the workshop. It was divided into three sessions. Session one consisted of the theoretical and technical aspects of bridge design. Session two consisted of Bridge designing on software. Session three consisted of practical fabrication of designed bridge and load testing. Fabrication was done using balsa wood. There was an award declaration session after the completion of the workshop. Three awards were given to the students’ viz. Best design award, Best fabrication award and Most innovative design award. The award winning students will be invited to participate in IIT Varanasi (BHU), Techfest.

    Prof. Mayank Sohani and Prof. Suresh Kurumbanshi the Faculty incharges of ISTE MPSTME chapter were present throughout the workshop for organisation and guidance to the student organising committee. The core organising committee consisted of:

    Tanmay Sharma, Chairperson ISTE MPSTME chapter
    Rahul Virmani,Secretary,ISTE MPSTME chapter
    PranjalNayak, Joint Secretary (Event head)
    Aman Jain, Assistant treasure
    SampreetiRajora, Women’s representative.
    The coordinators were:ShivamShrivastav, Oshin Banerjee, AdvaitShashtri, Ashwary Jain, Shubhi Dare, AnshulGelani, MradulAkashi, HarshitDalal.

    What do you think of this story?

    Select one of the options below. Your feedback will help tell CNN producers what to do with this iReport. If you'd like, you can explain your choice in the comments below.
    Be and editor! Choose an option below:
      Awesome! Put this on TV! Almost! Needs work. This submission violates iReport's community guidelines.


    Log in to comment

    iReport welcomes a lively discussion, so comments on iReports are not pre-screened before they post. See the iReport community guidelines for details about content that is not welcome on iReport.

    Add your Story Add your Story