About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view noblex's profile
    Posted February 6, 2014 by

    More from noblex

    Eileen Unger Inducted into International Women in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Hall of Fame




    Eileen Unger, President of Emergency Preparedness Partnerships (EPP),  has been inducted into the Homeland Security and Emergency Management  Hall of Fame.  This prestigious honor was memorialized during the  International Association of Emergency Managers’ 61st Annual Conference  in Reno, Nevada, on October 26, 2013. She was inducted because of her  extensive work within the field of utility storm restoration, and though  her entrepreneurial efforts with http://EmergencyPreparednessPartnerships.com.

    This event represents one of the International Network of Women in  Emergency Management’s (inWEM’s) major initiatives, honoring women who  are pioneers and leaders in the field of homeland security and emergency  management in local, state, tribal, and federal governments. This honor  is given only to women around the world who have been innovators in  critical infrastructure facilities; volunteer, faith, and community  based organizations; the private and nonprofit sectors; academia;  military; and private industry.

    “I can’t tell you how honored I am to be inducted into the  International Women in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Hall  of Fame,” said Unger.  “I am humbled by this opportunity, and it is a  great source of pride knowing that my dedication and hard work has been  recognized by such a prestigious organization within the industry.”

    Unger has more than 32 years experience in the engineering,  construction and utility industries. As president of EPP, Ms. Unger  provides not only the leadership and strategic direction for the  company, but also uses her expertise in project management, emergency  preparedness process analyzation and practical plan development for  client projects.

    This represents the latest in a series of recognitions for Unger.  In  the past she has received the Wells Fargo and National Association of  Women Business Owners’ Trailblazer Award; she was selected as one of ten  outstanding women in business by South Jersey Magazine; she was awarded  one of the 25 Women of Influence by the Philadelphia Business Journal;  and she was named one of New Jersey’s Best 50 Women in Business by  NJBiz.  Previous recognitions include being a 2005 Enterprising Women of  the Year Award Finalist, 2004 Woman of Influence named by NJBIZ  magazine, and one of the 24 People to Watch in 2004 by South Jersey  Magazine.

    Dr. Jacqueline McBride, President of inWEM, said, “This award honors  the contributions individuals have made in the advancement of women in  emergency management and a culture of preparedness for safer, resilient,  and sustainable diverse communities. Young girls and women around the  world need to see and read about these ‘trailblazers’ – someone who  reaches out and encourages them to one day follow their career path.”

    The complete list of inductees is:

    1818       Ms. Molly Williams, the first female firefighter in the United States (USA) (Posthumous)

    1940s     Dr. Rosa Lee Slade Gragg (1904 – 1989), under President  Roosevelt, was appointed to the National Advisory Board of the Federal  Office of Civil Defense and the only African American to serve on the  Board of the National Volunteer’s Participation Committee of Civil  Defense.  She also helped to establish Detroit’s first Civilian Defense  Office. (USA) (Posthumous)

    1983       Ms. Mary Schoenfeldt, a pioneer in school crisis response,  disaster stress management, public education and emergency management  in the State of Washington (USA)

    1983       Ms. Eileen Unger, a trailblazer in utility storm  restoration, emergency management, emergency preparedness, engineering  and construction (USA)

    1992     Dr. Elaine Enarson, one of the first female, disaster  sociologists, on gender and disasters; co-founder of the global Gender  and Disaster Network (1997); and founder/facilitator of the US Gender  and Disaster Resilience Alliance (2009) (USA)

    2000       Dr. Betty Morrow, organized and sponsored the first International Conference on Women in Emergency Management (USA)

    2000    Ms. Ana-Marie Jones, author and innovator behind  Collaborating Agencies Responding to Disasters (CARD), creating  trailblazing, research-based, fear-free approaches to preparedness for  vulnerable and other marginalized communities (USA)

    2004       Ms. Mary Anne McKown, senior planning lead, in support of  the Federal Emergency Management Agency, in writing, comment  adjudication, and synthesis of the seminal national doctrine and  documents to include the 2004 National Response Plan, the 2007 National  Response Framework, the 2012 National Response Framework, and the  National Planning System (USA)

    2004        Dr. Brenda D. Phillips, one of the first women worldwide  to attain full professorship in an emergency management program in the  Department of Political Science, at Oklahoma State University  (USA)

    2004       Chief Debra Pryor (Ret.), the nation’s second African  American Fire Chief and the City of Berkeley, CA’s first female  firefighter, paramedic and paramedic supervisor, and the first woman to  hold the titles of lieutenant, captain, assistant chief, deputy chief  and fire chief  (USA)

    2005       Ms. Kathy Cook, the first female Government Relations  Specialist for the U.S. Small Business Administration’s newly formed  Field Operations Center – East. (USA)

    2009     Chief Toni B. Washington is the first African American and  first female to become Fire Chief in the City of Decatur, Georgia (USA)

    2010       Ms. Pamela L’Heureux, the first President of IAEM-USA  Council representing volunteer emergency management, York County  Emergency Management Agency and Town of Waterboro, Maine  (USA)

    2010       Ms. JoAnna Larsen became the first female professional  emergency manager for the State of Utah Department of Health and, in  2011, was elected to lead the Utah Emergency Management Association as  its president (USA)

    2011       Dr. Kiki Caruson, first Vice President for  Research, Innovation and Global Affairs, University of South Florida,  with focus on intelligence, counterterrorism, counterinsurgency (USA)

    2011       Ms. Cherrie Black, first female chair elected to the DHS’  State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial Government Coordinating Council  (SLTTGCC) (USA)

    2011       Judge Renée Cardwell Hughes (Ret.), one of the first,  African American females,  Regional Chief Executive Officers for the  American Red Cross (USA)

    2012       Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., one of the first Greek  Letter organizations to officially establish an Emergency Response Team  (USA)

    2012       Ms. Andrea Berwind Davis, first female Director of Global  Crisis Management and Business Continuity for The Walt Disney Company  (USA)

    Add your Story Add your Story