Share this on:
 E-mail
10
VIEWS
0
COMMENTS
 
SHARES
About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view pescude's profile
    Posted May 24, 2014 by
    pescude
    Assignment
    Assignment
    This iReport is part of an assignment:
    Your views of stars and space

    More from pescude

    Camelopardalids meteor shower photo

     
    Camelopardalids
    img 6736
    author paul m escude
    date taken 5/24/2014 2:07 am
    copyright pescude@juno.com
    dimensions 4272 x 2848
    camera maker canon
    camera model canon eos rebel t3
    f-stop f5.6
    exposure time 30 sec.
    iso speed iso-800
    focal lenght 18 mm
    item type jpg file
    date created 5/24/2014 2:08 am
    size 3.31 mb
    location north fort myers, florida
    constellation camelopardius
    camera is pointing north


    The Camelopardalids (CAM) are particles from comet P/209 Linear and are predicted to peak near 7:00 Universal Time on May 24th. This timing favors North America. The radiant lies in a high northern position of 08:08 (122) +79, which places it in an obscure area of eastern Camelopardalis. This position also lies roughly 10 degrees from the 2nd magnitude North Star, also known as Polaris. This area of the sky is best placed as soon as it becomes dark during the evening hours. As the night progresses the radiant will slowly lose altitude as it circles to the left (west) of Polaris. At the time of maximum activity (3am EDT, 2am CDT, 1 am MDT, 12am PDT Saturday morning) activity could be quite high with several shower members appearing each minute. Since this is a new encounter with these particles, there is also the chance that little activity will occur. Stream models indicate that the Earth will intercept several streams of particles produced by comet P/209 Linear during the past two centuries. While a good show may fail to materialize, this appears to be the most favorable opportunity to view a meteor outburst for many years to come. The circumstances could scarcely be better as it occurs during the weekend and the waning crescent moon will hardy be a factor.

    What do you think of this story?

    Select one of the options below. Your feedback will help tell CNN producers what to do with this iReport. If you'd like, you can explain your choice in the comments below.
    Be and editor! Choose an option below:
      Awesome! Put this on TV! Almost! Needs work. This submission violates iReport's community guidelines.

    Comments

    Log in to comment

    iReport welcomes a lively discussion, so comments on iReports are not pre-screened before they post. See the iReport community guidelines for details about content that is not welcome on iReport.

    Add your Story Add your Story