Share this on:
 E-mail
12
VIEWS
0
COMMENTS
 
SHARES
About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view HarryWales's profile
    Posted August 4, 2014 by
    HarryWales
    Location
    Llanon, United Kingdom
    Assignment
    Assignment
    This iReport is part of an assignment:
    Impact Your World

    More from HarryWales

    An Act of Rememberance in the United Kingdom

     
    Today, August 4th 2014, marks the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of war between the United Kingdom (and the British Empire) and the nations of Europe that would lead to World War I. As an act of remembrance people across the UK are being asked to turn off their house lights and place a candle in their window and at 11.00pm BST (2200 GMT / 0000 CET) extinguish it to reflect the words of the English Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs who said at the time "Tonight,, the lights go out across Europe, it will be a long time before we see them again!". The paintings and poems are my grandmother's own work and was done especially for this anniversary year.

    What do you think of this story?

    Select one of the options below. Your feedback will help tell CNN producers what to do with this iReport. If you'd like, you can explain your choice in the comments below.
    Be and editor! Choose an option below:
      Awesome! Put this on TV! Almost! Needs work. This submission violates iReport's community guidelines.

    Comments

    Log in to comment

    iReport welcomes a lively discussion, so comments on iReports are not pre-screened before they post. See the iReport community guidelines for details about content that is not welcome on iReport.

    Add your Story Add your Story