Share this on:
About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view omeroscar's profile
    Posted August 24, 2014 by

    More from omeroscar

    Filipino actress to receive highest award

    GAWAD Plaridel, the highest award given by the University of the Philippines to an outstanding media practitioner, will be presented to Filipino movie icon Nora Aunor on August 27 in a 2 p.m. ceremony at the UP Film Institute Film Center’s Cine Adarna.
    Nora Aunor, the 10th recipient of UP’s Gawad Plaridel, will receive the trophy designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva.
    Aunor is being cited for her excellence in film and television. She earlier received lifetime achievement awards in the two media—the Film Development Foundation of the Philippines’ Haligi ng Industriya (1997) and the Film Academy of the Philippines’ citation (1994) for film, and the Helen Vela Award (2004), Ading Fernando Award (2001) and Vic Silayan Award (1997) for TV.
    While her numerous acting awards in the Philippines and abroad are publicly known, Aunor has also produced critically acclaimed films through NV Productions and NCV Productions. Among these are “Carmela,” “Paruparong Itim,” (Black Butterfly) “Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos,” (Three Years Without God) “Bona,” “Condemned,” “Andrea” and “Pacita M.”
    She also holds the distinction of working with four directors who eventually became National Artists for Film—Lamberto Avellana (“Fe, Esperanza, Caridad”), Gerardo de Leon (“Banaue”), Lino Brocka (“Bona,” “Ina Ka ng Anak Mo” (You’re the Mother of Your Daughter) and “Nakaw na Pag-ibig” (Stolen Love), and Ishmael Bernal (“Ikaw ay Akin” (You’re Mine), “Bakit May Pag-ibig Pa?” (Why There’s Love) and “Himala” (Mystery).
    Established by the UP College of Mass Communication, the annual UP Gawad Plaridel recognizes outstanding Filipino media practitioners and those who have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.
    The UP Gawad Plaridel’s past recipients are Inquirer founding chair Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Vilma Santos (2005, film), Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent filmmaking), Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television), and Jose “Pete” Lacaba (2013, print).
    The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (Plaridel), the propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper “La Solidaridad” gave voice to nationalist sentiments and libertarian ideas in the 1890s.
    Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in a vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that are socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent.

    What do you think of this story?

    Select one of the options below. Your feedback will help tell CNN producers what to do with this iReport. If you'd like, you can explain your choice in the comments below.
    Be and editor! Choose an option below:
      Awesome! Put this on TV! Almost! Needs work. This submission violates iReport's community guidelines.


    Log in to comment

    iReport welcomes a lively discussion, so comments on iReports are not pre-screened before they post. See the iReport community guidelines for details about content that is not welcome on iReport.

    Add your Story Add your Story