About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view sirjonesmag's profile
    Posted September 16, 2014 by
    Beverly Hills, California
    This iReport is part of an assignment:
    Weekends in America

    More from sirjonesmag

    4th Annual African NAFCA Awards

    The Nollywood & African Film Critics’ Awards, commonly known as The African Oscars, are set took center stage at the Saban Theatre at the 4 Nollywood African Film Critics’ Awards (NAFCA). The star-studded awards show took place on Saturday, September 13th, at 7:00pm with red carpet arrivals beginning at 5:00pm. The Pre-Show festivities began at 3:00pm with red carpet arrivals starting at 1:30pm.

    The NAFCA represents the U.S. awards for achievements in the film industry and the NAFCA Special Honors are awarded to recognize outstanding individuals whose professional careers have been marked by extraordinary personal and professional accomplishments.

    Presentations of the African Oscars and The NAFCA Special Honors are made yearly during the second weekend in September. The African Oscars NAFCA is designed to globally promote African Cinema and culture. The prestigious Awards are awards of merit and are considered the highest Diaspora award. The Awards which were first presented in 2011, were overseen by the Nollywood Film Critics USA.

    This year marks the first year the Awards show will be held in a Hollywood setting. Hosting the show this year were Kellita Smith (“Roll Bounce”), Lester Speight (“Transformers 3”), Michael Adegoke (5x US Dance Champion) and Nigerian born actress, Stella Damasus (“Real Love”); and Jackie Christie (“Basketball Wives LA”) was slated host the Pre-Show.

    This year’s nominees ranged from a variety of talent including Sir Sidney Poitier, Louis Gossett, Jr., Isaiah Washington, Hon. Dr Folorunsho Alakija (Rose of Sharon-Nigeria), Blair Underwood, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong’o, Sharon Leal, Kym Whitley, among others.

    Presenters included Don B. Welch, Dorian Gregory, Nicci Gilbert, Ella Joyce, Ernest Thomas, Kiki Shepard, Miguel Nunez, Omarosa Manigault, Vanessa Williams and many others.

    The Special NAFCA Honors Award was presented to His Imperial Majesty Kabiyesi Alaiyeluwa Oba Okunade Sijuwade Olubuse II, The Ooni of Ife (Nigeria).
    Add your Story Add your Story