74
VIEWS
0
COMMENTS
 
SHARES
About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view DMcCauley's profile
    Posted September 24, 2014 by
    DMcCauley
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina

    More from DMcCauley

    Author Jeannette M. Gagan, PhD, Releases New Self-Help Motivational Book, 'Grow Up Your Ego'

     
    Author Jeannette M. Gagan, PhD, has announced the release of 'Grow Up Your Ego: Ten Scientifically Validated Stages to Emotional and Spiritual Maturity'.

    In the tradition of Ken Wilber, Jeannette Gagan takes a path never before taken. Psychology would have us strengthen our ego, while spirituality often discounts it and asks us to eliminate it. Gagan's approach guides us on a journey of integration, allowing us to advance through the stages of ego growth in order to arrive at a destination of spiritual maturity and self-actualization. Her approach is down-to-earth, practical and specific.

    In this groundbreaking guidebook, Gagan provides in-depth descriptions of the ten stages of ego growth as well as concise explanations of the scientific studies that validate ego growth. Frequent exercises, review sections, and illustrations support and encourage readers to locate themselves along the growth spiral and chart a path toward spiritual transformation, spiritual growth and fulfillment.

    Jeannette describes the healing benefits of her writings specifically when she refers to 'Grow Up Your Ego' in this way. “This book provides the platform from which I communicate to readers the richness and power of behavioral research: the mature ego not only processes emotion in the healthiest of ways, it also supplies the bridge to our innate spirituality. Whether through the book itself, website information, media interviews I will continue to educate those willing to read and listen and learn—the ego is indeed real; research scientifically validates ten stages of ego growth; no matter our age or station in life our egos can grow up; when the ego matures spiritual growth is its natural accompaniment!”

    'Grow Up Your Ego' was a finalist in the 2014 National Indie Excellence Book Awards in the Self-Help Motivational category.

    In a recent review, Midwest Book Review stated that 'Grow Up Your Ego', " . . .create[s] a self-help instruction manual that is an informed and informative, thoughtful and thought-provoking, inspired and inspiring, and above all, practical and thoroughly 'user friendly' for the non-specialist general reader seeking to improve the quality of their personal lives. Very highly recommended for personal and community library Self-Help collections."

    Other reviewers have called the work “…a splendid guide to psychological and spiritual maturity;” “…a practical, useful guide to the development of emotional intelligence;” “…not just a book to read, but a book to grow by;” and “…the author’s vision is ultimately optimistic—that with intention we can all continue to develop in ego functioning and the ability to live fully, that we are not bound by pains and insults of the past, and that no matter our age, we can continue to grow.”

    Jeannette M Gagan is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below or by email at spins55332@mypacks.net. Her books are available at online book outlets. More information is available at her website.

    About Jeannette M. Gagan:

    Jeannette M Gagan holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Marquette University and a PhD in Counseling Psychology from the University of New Mexico. She has twenty years plus experience of clinical practice. She is the author of 'Journeying: Where Shamanism and Psychology Meet' and 'Grow Up Your Ego: Ten Scientifically Validated Stages to Emotional and Spiritual Maturity'. She has given presentations to various audiences throughout the United States. She is currently working on her next book, 'The Paradoxical Return of the Feminine'.
    Add your Story Add your Story