Share this on:
 E-mail
5,757
VIEWS
23
COMMENTS
 
SHARES
About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view dgoshin's profile
    Posted September 1, 2008 by
    dgoshin

    More from dgoshin

    Statutory Rape Laws-Alaska

     

    Since everyone is asking about Sara Palin's daughter Bristol Palin and her teenage pregnancy I thought I'd bring everyone the Alaskan laws as they pertain to statutory rape.  As I understand it the father of the child is 18 years old.  In 11 states state's this could be tried as rape but in Alaska it seems that there must be an age difference greater than 3 years.

     

    http://www.livestrong.com/article/12483-age-consensual-sex/

    -


     

    The Alaska age of consent laws are unique. The age of consent in Alaska is 16. This is the age at which an individual may consent to have sex with someone over 18, legally, in Alaska. It applies both to heterosexual and homosexual acts. 

     

    The minimum age to marry in Alaska is 18. People under the age of 18 can marry with the consent of both parents. The prospective bride and groom should bring certified birth certificates, and their parents should present valid identification.

     

    In Alaska, as in many other states, the laws on statutory rape depend, in part, on the age difference between the two partners. The law recognizes statutory rape only in cases involving an age difference of more than 3 years. A 20 year old man who has sex with a 15 year old girl, in Alaska, is guilty of statutory rape. A 17 year old male who has consensual sex with a 15 year old girl is not guilty of statutory rape, under Alaska law.

     

    First degree sexual abuse of a minor is defined as someone age 16 or older engaging in sexual penetration with a child under the age of 13. This crime carries a sentence of up to 30 years in state prison.

     

    Under the Alaska age of consent laws, it is second degree sexual abuse for someone aged 16 or older to engage in sexual penetration with an individual who is a) at least 3 years younger and b) aged 13, 14 or 15 years old. This crime carries a sentence of up to 10 years in state prison.

     

    Fourth degree sexual abuse occurs when an individual under 16 engages in sexual penetration with someone a) at least 3 years younger and b) under the age of 13.  The penalty for this crime is up to one year in state prison.

     

     

     

    Reference:

     

    http://blog.laborlawtalk.com/2006/11/07/alaska-age-of-consent-laws/

    What do you think of this story?

    Select one of the options below. Your feedback will help tell CNN producers what to do with this iReport. If you'd like, you can explain your choice in the comments below.
    Be and editor! Choose an option below:
      Awesome! Put this on TV! Almost! Needs work. This submission violates iReport's community guidelines.

    Comments

    Log in to comment

    iReport welcomes a lively discussion, so comments on iReports are not pre-screened before they post. See the iReport community guidelines for details about content that is not welcome on iReport.

    Add your Story Add your Story