About this iReport
  • Not verified by CNN

  • Click to view triukas6's profile
    Posted April 15, 2012 by

    More from triukas6

    Nico Rosberg achieves first victory

    On Sunday, Nico Rosberg won the first race of his career and led the Mercedes team to their first victory since 1955.

    Mercedes took advantage of a promising race from the get go. With seven-time champion Michael Schumacher starting from second position, the German team hoped to see both of their drivers on the podium. This dream was shattered once M. Schumacher made his first pit stop and his mechanics did not screw on the rear right wheel.

    Apart from this incident, no more spectacular accidents occurred during the race. The first position was held by N. Rosberg throughout the race, though Jenson Button had the lead for some laps, but the second place winner was not obvious until J. Button passed defending champion Sebastian Vettel and later passed the checkered flag. Lewis Hamilton finished 3rd for the third consecutive time and is the only driver to stand on the podium for all three races this season. Thus he became the championship leader. The brit passed S. Vettel with only a couple laps left. S. Vettel soon lost the fourth position to his team-mate Mark Webber.

    Full results:
    1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
    2. Jenson Button (McLaren)
    3. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
    4. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)
    5. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)
    6. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
    7. Bruno Senna (Williams)
    8. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
    9. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
    10. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)
    11. Sergio Perez (Sauber)
    12. Paul di Resta (Force india)
    13. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
    14. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus)
    15. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
    16. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
    17. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
    18. Vitaly Petrov (Caterham)
    19. Timo Glock (Marussia)
    20. Charles Pic (Marussia)
    21. Pedro de la Rosa (HRT)
    22. Narain Karthikeyan (HRT)
    23. Heikki Kovalainen (Caterham)
    Did Not Finish - Michael Schumacher (Mercedes)

    Top Five drivers in the championship:
    1. Lewis Hamilton - 45 points
    2. Jenson Button - 43 points
    3. Fernando Alonso - 37 points
    4. Mark Webber - 36 points
    5. Sebastian Vettel - 28 points

    Top Five teams in the championship:
    1. McLaren - 88 points
    2. Red Bull Racing - 64 points
    3. Ferrari - 37 points
    4. Sauber - 31 points
    5. Mercedes - 26 points

    The next race will be held in Bahrain on April 22nd.
    Add your Story Add your Story